Home Theater Movie Renter's Guide - June, 2010


"History of the World-Part 1" (Blu-ray) - Reviewed by Jim Milton



Mel Brooks shares his version of human history from the dawn of mankind through the zenith of Louis the XVI's French Empire. Of course, along the way, political correctness is jettisoned and no person, ethnic or religious group escapes his parody and  zany wit.



  • Universal Studios
  • 1981, Color, Rated R, 1 Hr 32 min
  • Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1
  • 1080p
  • Codec: MPEG 4
  • English 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio
  • Starring: Mel Brooks, Dom DeLuise, Madeline Kahn, Gregory Hines, Harvey Korman
  • Directed by Mel Brooks
  • Entertainment:
  • Video:
  • Audio:
  • Extras:
  • Violence: Comic Slapstick
  • Sex: Yes
  • Language: Mild


I never found this film to be an example of Mel's best work as his wacky humor in this movie seems a bit dated. Yes, a few sight gags work here and there, but the overall flow seems stilted, as though the whole movie was made of  pieced together vignettes. The opening cavemen  scenes are more silly than funny. But I actually laughed out loud at Moses and the 15...oops...10 commandments. Scenes with "ghetto blasters" and "weed" fell flat. However, a lot can be said about a film that incorporated a Spanish Inquisition musical (the highlight of the movie)! That reminded me of "Springtime for Hitler" from The Producers. Lots of sexual innuendo throughout the movie will certainly keep this off the program for "family" movie night.


The overall picture quality is good for a film this age. Minor scratches and spot appear throughout the film, but the colors are spot on and generally very sharp. The 1080p picture reveals details of the low level quality props and set pieces in the film, but that's part of the charm of this movie. I did not notice any edge enhancements or color smearing. Sound was clear with well centered dialog, but the surrounds are not called upon often. My sub fell fast asleep 10 minutes into the movie.


Theatrical trailers, Making Of Documentary, and trivia track are included.